Ability to link a secondary device identified
The messaging platform WhatsApp is currently working on a new feature that allows users to sync their chats by linking two smartphones together. The function was identified by WABetaInfo in version 126.96.36.199 of WhatsApp for Android. However, since the feature is still in development, it won’t be available to regular users for at least a while until it’s released as part of the stable update. The report also mentions that the Meta-owned instant messaging platform will add the same functionality to WhatsApp for the web.
Dual-device WhatsApp chat sync feature spotted
From what it looks like, the feature is part of the WhatsApp companion mode which was spotted in May 2022. The companion mode allows users to link a secondary smartphone to their primary device and access chat history WhatsApp and other details on the secondary device. . Although the feature was spotted in a beta for Android, it will be available for Android and iOS devices. Additionally, the feature could pave the way for WhatsApp Multi-device v2.0, in which users will have the ability to use multiple devices to access their messages and media files on WhatsApp.
According to a recent report by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is developing a feature that will hide users’ online status from other contacts on the platform, while showing it to certain users. As the feature is released, users will be able to select people from their contact list and only those people will be able to see their online status. Although, since the feature is still in development, there is no tentative launch date or timeline available at this time.
Users will be able to leave groups without telling others
In related news, WhatsApp is working on a feature that will allow users to silently leave WhatsApp groups. Now, whenever a user leaves a group, all group participants are notified. However, in the future, WhatsApp may allow users to leave without showing any notifications to others in the group. Additionally, for admins, WhatsApp is also developing a feature that allows them to see previous participants who have been in the group.