It is safe to delete your disavow link file if there are no manual actions or link scheme history, Google said

Google’s John Mueller said it’s probably safe to completely delete your link disavow file if you haven’t had manual actions for links before and/or you don’t have a history of schemes links on the site. He said he would delete the disavow file because Google is good at ignoring typical spammy-looking links that you don’t create yourself.

This happened during Google SEO last business hours at 10:17 a.m. John said “if you’re really sure there’s nothing like a manual action you’ve had to address in regards to these links , I would just delete the disavow record and move on and leave all of that out.”

He added that you can and probably should download a copy of your disavow file, so that you have a backup of it after deleting it. That way, if you want to add it back, you can easily add it back. But generally he said “I would just delete it and move on. There’s a lot more to pass your time when it comes to websites than just disavowing those random things that happen to anyone. what website on the web.”

Here is the full transcript:

A question about links and disavows. Over the past 15 years, I’ve disavowed over 11,000 links in total. I have never bought a link or done anything forbidden like sharing. The links I have disavowed may be from hacked sites or nonsense auto-generated content. Since Google now claims to have better tools to not put these types of hacked or spammy links into their algorithms, should I just delete my disavow file? Is there any risk or advantage or disadvantage to just removing it?

So it’s a good question, it comes up from time to time. And link disavowal is always one of those tricky topics, because it feels like Google probably isn’t giving you all the information. But from our perspective, it actually feels like we’re working really hard to avoid considering those kinds of links. And we do it because we know the link disavow tool is kind of a niche tool and SEO knows that, but the average person running a website has no idea.

And all those links that you mentioned are the kind of links that any website gets over the years and our systems understand that these are not things you’re trying to do to game our algorithm. So from that point of view, if you’re really sure there’s nothing like a manual action you had to resolve regarding those links, I’d just delete the disavow file and move on with life and I would leave all that aside.

One thing I would personally do is download it and make a copy so you have some sort of record of what you deleted. But otherwise, if you’re sure these are just normal nifty things on the internet, I’d just delete them and move on. There’s a lot more to pass your time when it comes to websites than just disavowing those random things that happen to any website on the web.

Here is the integration at start time:

Nice GIF from Glenn Gabe on this:

Discussion forum on Twitter.

Harry D. Gonzalez